I


Can


Only


Speak


My


Mind

You decide

March 11, 2007 - 7:25 a.m.

I took time for me yesterday. I went and got a pedicure and a manicure. Jay had given me a certificate for Christmas in 2005 for the mani so I made the appointment and went.

Awesome.

Except that the gal didn't speak much English. And spoke to all the Spanish speakers around us in Spanish.

Now I understand a little Spanish and can usually figure out what the conversations are about but I think it is the rudest thing in the US to have someone speak another language to others around you when they are helping you.

I'll even take it one step further. This is the United States of America; if you think it's good enough to move here, learn the language. Especially if your job involves the public. You want the benefits, make an effort to blend in with those of us born and raised here.

Okay, I'll step off my soapbox for a moment.

I'm never sure how much to tip those who do my hair, nails and waxing. Is there a standard percentage like there is for wait staff? I mean waiters only get peanuts for a wage so the tip is intended to make up the difference. Don't those who do your hair, nails and waxing get a decent hourly wage?

If they do, what is the purpose of the tip?

Yes the lady did a nice job, but she was so busy watching what was going on around us that I was ignored most of the time. She made a couple of attempts to speak with me and I asked her questions that could lead to conversation but she just didn't know the language well enough to answer simple things. Like... how old are your children?

She had the hardest time with six.

So what is the tip for? I tip nicely for the lady who does our hair because she always (even in the beginning) talks to us and asks questions to carry on a conversation so we feel welcome. In addition, she does exactly what we ask for and does a very nice job. So I tip her nicely. It varies each time, sort of how I feel.

The lady who did my mani and pedi spent an hour and a half with me. All those around us had drinks, coffee, juice, water; and were talking. It wasn't until 1/3 of the way thru my pedi that she asked if I wanted something to drink and that was only because the customer next to me asked for a refill on her water.

Okay, I'm fat and am used to some of this type of oversite, but is it okay for it to affect my tip? Is there a standard I should have given?

The bill was $44. What should the tip have been?

Half of what I say is meaningless
But I say it just to reach you

Shelli

The WeatherPixie

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Journal


Contact Me


Credits


Buddylist