I


Can


Only


Speak


My


Mind

Spring Ahead Dearys

March 10, 2007 - 6:57 a.m.

I'm going to start changing our clocks this morning to SPRING AHEAD so that hopefully by Monday my kiddos will be used to it and not too upset that I want to drag their behinds out of bed at 7.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This got me to looking for some cute graphics to put up here. What I found instead was the . I found out some really interesting things I thought I'd share.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There is no "s" at the end of Saving. It is NOT Daylight Savings Time.

Did you know DST was started to save energy? By moving the clocks ahead one hour we can save energy because even though we are now getting up in the dark, we are extending the light in the evening when more people are home. Or that's what the figured in 1970! They also determined that a country can save 1% energy usage each day by having DST.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket


Dear old Benjamin Franklin was the first to come up with DST back in 1784. It wasn't until 1916 when Germany and Austria actually made the change. Other countries followed suit 3 weeks later. The US had DST during the war but it was so unpopular that Congress repealed it. We went back and forth with it until 1974 when Nixon signed it back into law.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket


Since then, the lawmakers have be playing around with the timing of it which is why we have to SPRING AHEAD 3 weeks earlier than last year.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

If you hate it, stick around. It will be over November 2nd!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

In the meantime - - - -
Enjoy your last day of normal time!

Half of what I say is meaningless
But I say it just to reach you

Shelli

The WeatherPixie

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Journal


Contact Me


Credits


Buddylist