I


Can


Only


Speak


My


Mind

Damn Murphy Anyway

October 05, 2006 - 5:55 a.m.

I want to sell my van. It's hard for me to get in and out of and 95% of the time, I drive around in this monsterous vehicle by myself. I want to get a CRV. If we had sold my van this summer, we should have been able to get about $7000 for it. Of course my summer was a fiasco with all my flights to IA, working at my "real" job and at the stamp store. Now, just like murphy's law, when it's recently been detailed and I was going to put up the for sale sign, it starts having problems. Hubby changed 2 belts last night but neither was the problem. There's one more thing he's going to check tonight before admiting it's more than likely the transmission. We just have such luck with our vans.

I've been wanting to buy Jay and Kyn a micro for the apartment since they moved in there. I've looked many different places and learned quite a bit about micros that I never knew before. I told hubby what I wanted to do and why. The other night when he was out shopping for something, he bought one. It just so happened that Jay and Kyn came to the house that night and when they were leaving, hubby told Jay to open the back door of his truck and take that home with them. I was shocked and impressed. He bought a black one because Jay seems to like black furniture best.

Naturally, murphy couldn't stay out of things that time either. The very next night, Fred was reheating leftovers for dinner and started complaining that the micro wouldn't work. Hubby gave him grief saying he had just reheated some for himself and Fred must not be doing something right. He went over and "fixed" it for Fred. Hubby wanted more and wouldn't you know he had trouble with the micro. It appears that ours is wearing out and we'll be needing a new one. Normally that wouldn't be a problem but must of my NewtriSystem food is cooked in the micro!

Damn Murphy!

I got to work around 7:30 yesterday morning. I called hubby to let him know the noise in the van didn't start until I was pulling into the parking lot. Within 30 minutes he called me to tell me unfortunately he was adding to my already stressful day. My dad had called him to tell him to get ahold of me and call their house immediately. Damn, that can't be good!

I live on the east coast of FL. My family lives on the west coast of FL. It's 98 miles from my front door to my parents' front door. Just wanted you to have that in mind when I tell you about the return call.

Dad told me that he was bringing my Mom over here to my house so I could call 9 11.

Sounds perfectly normal right?! She's not well. Her trigeminal neuralgia has worsed and the doc is on vacation. It seems that he hasn't been giving her the only meds that have been proven to help. He knows best and that's that. The morning was a nightmare of calling all around trying to deal with that. Getting emergency appointments over here only to be told later to cancel them.

Of course during all of that, I was dealing with some major issues at work, too. The afternoon just continued in that chaos with Fred calling to ask if he could stay after for help in Chem. He's failing, 43%, so naturally I said yes. Never mind that my van isn't very reliable and I'm terrified of going too far from the house because I know murphy is going to cause that to be the time when the van quits completely.

Shortly after that, Squeak calls to tell me the bus driver wouldn't let him on the bus (they've had tons of problems with this woman) so I now needed to go pick him up at one school, then drive to the other to find Fred.

Fred wasn't getting Chem help.

Fred has a girlfriend.

Fred was "hanging" with her.

Of course murphy wasn't finished with my day. I got a call from one of my sis inlaws. The one who is married to my richest brother. She's a surgical nurse and took over the drama with my parents this morning. She was calling to update me on the situation. Oh yeah and tell me that it has tremendously interfered with her marriage. Having to run all over getting food and meds for my mom and dealing with my dad seems to have been the icing on their marital troubles. She's had enough.

Um, okay.

Seriously, that's not what I wanted to happen and I feel awful about it. More than awful, guilty. I should have dropped everything and driven over there to take care of things myself. I'm the daughter, she's not. I hate that she always has to deal with the medical issues with them. Yeah, she has the knowledge and only lives 2 blocks away, but I'm the one who should be dealing with this. It's my parents.

Hey murphy, you do know how terrible stress is for my MS, right? Of course you do. It's your law and you are just enforcing it.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Half of what I say is meaningless
But I say it just to reach you

Shelli

The WeatherPixie

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Journal


Contact Me


Credits


Buddylist