I


Can


Only


Speak


My


Mind

Too much like his dad

December 29, 2006 - 9:37 p.m.

So much to do, so little time and I'm still sick. The antibiotics don't seem to be doing much, nor do the other meds Dr V has me on. Oh well, could be worse.

Hubby found a contractor to give us an estimate on the kitchen. $3500 without the counter top. My dad says he couldn't get it done for us for under $12,000! They are going to do it in 4 weekends, or so they say now.

I'm had to make so many decisions on this and to be honest I think I've been really easy going about it all. I realize we are limited on the design because hubby was only able to get a limited amount of cabinets so I'm just trying to make the kitchen more workable and have more counter space.

I get to move the fridge back over to the cooking area instead of next to the table. I'm so happy about that, but because it's so huge, I'm afraid I'll be unhappy with the only place I've been told it can be. I would rather have a counter right across from the stove, but at least the fridge won't be clear on the other side of the kitchen any more. I'm hoping to get a few more ideas before we finalize this weekend.

The guy is recommending we put in 6 high hats instead of a single light. I'm not sure about that. Actually I'm not sure what he means. I want to get more specifics before agreeing to lighting.

I've been searching the net to see what is "in" for kitchen lighting and not really coming up with a clear idea. These are the times I wish my mom was closer. She's the one who convinced hubby to ditch the pantry and put in cabinets and counter top in it's place.

Anyway, I'm excited about the remodel and anxious to get it started, but leery on the time estimate. Not that I cook tons and will hate not having a kitchen, just hate the idea of more things torn up.

I took the tree down tonight so I could bring the play thingie in the house that I bought for Diva off craigslist. She's loving it. I'm loving that the decorations are packed as are the lights from the tree. I actually had Squeak help me do it. I'm really considering a fake tree next year. If I find a nice prelit one on clearance, I may just buy it and eliminate the needle headache next year. Not to mention the watering and removal process.

Better give Fred a call and see what time I'm picking him up from the movies. I think he's working on a new girlfriend. That's just the mom in me. That and the fact that he really reminds me of his dad at that age. Could be really wrong....or not.

Half of what I say is meaningless
But I say it just to reach you

Shelli

The WeatherPixie

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Journal


Contact Me


Credits


Buddylist